My 2013 CMA Awards Predictions

My vote would’ve gone to the selection of each category in bold.

Entertainer of the Year:
Blake Shelton
George Strait
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Taylor Swift

Single of the Year:
Cruise – Florida Georgia Line. Republic Nashville.
Highway Don’t Care – Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift & Keith Urban. Big Machine Records.
Mama’s Broken Heart – Miranda Lambert. RCA Nashville.
Merry Go Round – Kacey Musgraves. Mercury Records.
Wagon Wheel – Darius Rucker. Capital Records Nashville.

Album of the Year:
Based on a True Story – Blake Shelton. Warner Bros. Nashville.
Blown Away – Carrie Underwood. Artista Nashville.
Red – Taylor Swift. Big Machine Records.
Same Trailer Different Park – Kacey Musgraves. Mercury Records.
Tornado – Little Big Town. Capital Records Nashville.

Song of the Year:
I Drive Your Truck – Written by: Jesi Alexander, Connie Harrington & Jimmy Yeary. Performed by: Lee Brice.
Mama’s Broken Heart – Written by: Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally & Kacey Musgraves. Performed by: Miranda Lambert.
Merry Go Round – Written by: Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves & Josh Osborne. Performed by: Kacey Musgraves.
Pontoon – Written by: Barry Dean, Natalie Hemby & Luke Laird. Performed by: Little Big Town.
Wagon Wheel – Written by: Bob Dylan & Ketch Secor. Performed by: Darius Rucker.

Female Vocalist of the Year:
Carrie Underwood
Kacey Musgraves
Kelly Clarkson
Miranda Lambert
Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist of the Year:
Blake Shelton
Eric Church
Jason Aldean
Keith Urban
Luke Bryan

Vocal Group of the Year:
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
The Band Perry
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year:
Big & Rich
Florida Georgia Line
Love and Theft
Sugarland
The Civil Wars
Thompson Square

Musical Event of the Year:
Boys Round Here – Blake Shelton Feat. Pistol Annies
Cruise – Florida Georgia Line with Nelly
Don’t Rush – Kelly Clarkson Feat. Vince Gill
Highway Don’t Care – Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift & Keith Urban
The Only Way I Know – Jason Aldean with Luke Bryan and Eric Church

Musician of the Year:
Brent Mason – Guitar
Dann Huff – Guitar
Mac McAnally – Guitar
Paul Franklin – Steel Guitar
Sam Bush – Mandolin

Music Video of the Year:
Blown Away – Carrie Underwood. Directed by: Randee St. Nicholas.
Boys Round Here – Blake Shelton Feat. Pistol Annies. Directed by: Trey Fanjoy.
Downtown – Lady Antebellum. Directed by: Peter Zavadill.
Highway Don’t Care – Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift & Keith Urban. Directed by: Shane Drake.
Mama’s Broken Heart – Miranda Lambert. Directed by: Trey Fanjoy.
Tornado – Little Big Town. Directed by: Shane Drake.

New Artist of the Year:
Brent Eldredge
Florida Georgia Line
Kacey Musgraves
Kip Moore
Lee Brice

Thoughts:
Entertainer of the Year selection came down to Blake Shelton vs. Luke Bryan. Ultimately I chose Shelton due to his role on The Voice.

Cruise for Single of the Year was one of the easiest decisions for me.  However if someone made an argument for Merry Go Round I would not fight it.

Same Trailer Different Park from Kacey Musgraves is an incredible album.  From top to bottom I gave it the edge of Blown Away.

Song of the Year was probably the toughest decision for me to make.  I Drive Your Truck, Merry Go Round and Wagon Wheel are all favorites of mine.  I Drive Your Truck is my dark horse that could win this category due to the great story it tells.

Female Vocalist of the Year was a tight race as well.  I ultimately decided I like what I’ve heard this year from Carrie Underwood the most.  I’ll admit a little celebrity crush bias might have played into this decision though….

Luke Bryan was my gut decision for Male Vocalist of the Year, but the more I think about it the more my mind starts trying to sway me to each of the other candidates.  So I’ll stop trying to sway myself and go with my which of the group sounded best right away.

Last year the Vocal Group of the Year category would have been much tougher, but when I think about what has happened in just the past year I liked The Band Perry here by a long shot.

What do you get when you throw together three the most popular country music male talents for one song.  The Only Way I Know getting my vote for Musical Event of the Year.

The music video for Blown Away I felt like was superior to the others in the Music Video of the Year category.

Just like all the other categories, New Artist of the Year had a lot of worthy candidates.  Kip Moore and Kacey Musgraves are two new favorites of mine, but it is hard to argue with Florida Georgia Line’s success this year.

Follow @DavidCoatsII on Twitter

Leave a Reply

